1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Kitniyot

By

Definition: Kitniyot are legumes such as rice, corn, soy beans, string beans, peas, lentils, mustard, sesame seeds and poppy seeds.

On Passover, Ashkenazic Jews do not eat kitniyot because kitniyot products may get confused with chametz products. The prohibition against kitniyot on Passover is only against eating it, not against possessing it.

The Sephardic community did not accept this geonic prohibition, because the main articles of food in their geographic locations were rice and legumes. Consequently, today Sephardic Jews eat kitniyot on Passover.

Furthermore, not all Ashkenazic Jews adopted the same prohibition against kitniyot on Passover. Some will not eat kitniyot derivatives, but many will use kitniyot-based oils on Passover such as corn oil and peanut oil.
Alternate Spellings: kitneot
Common Misspellings: keetneot
Examples: I won't eat rice on Passover because it is kitniyot, but my Sephardic husband will eat it.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.