1. Religion & Spirituality
Send to a Friend via Email
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Can Ashkenazi Jews eat tofu and soybean products during Passover?

By

Rabbi Barry Dov Lerner

Rabbi Barry Dov Lerner

Question: Can Ashkenazi Jews eat tofu and soybean products during Passover?

Dear Rabbi,
Can Ashkenazi Jews eat tofu and soybean products during Passover?
Thank you, Marvin

Answer: Dear Marvin,

The Torah forbids Jews to eat (or even possess) chometz during the seven days of Passover. Chometz is as any of the five grains (wheat, spelt, barley, oats, and rye) that came into contact with water for more than 18 minutes.

Kitniyot are legumes, including rice, corn, soy beans, string beans, peas, lentils, peanuts, mustard, sesame seeds and poppy seeds. Ashkenazi Jews do not eat kitniyot on Passover because they are similar to chometz and might confuse someone into accidentally eating chometz.

While Ashkenazi Jews do not eat kitniyot, they are allowed to possess it in their homes.

Some Ashkenazi Jews eat derivatives of kitniyot, such as corn oil, but others do not even eat kitniyot derivatives.

While quinoa seems like Kitniyot, it is actually a grass rather than a grain. Thus, quinoa can be eaten by Ashkenazi Jews on Passover.

Best wishes,
Rabbi Dov

More Judaism Q&A
  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Judaism
  4. ABC's of Judaism
  5. Ask the Rabbi Q&A
  6. Ask Conservative Rabbis
  7. Conservative FAQ: Lerner
  8. Holidays, Sabbath Day
  9. Passover
  10. Tofu Soybean Products - Kosher for Passover - Chometz Kitniyot - Ask the Rabbi - Conservative Judaism

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.