1. Religion & Spirituality
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

The Five Books of Moses


'Book of Books' Exhibition Opens In Jerusalem
Uriel Sinai / Stringer/Getty Images News/Getty Images

The Five Books of Moses are the biblical books of Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers and Deuteronomy. Collectively these books are known as the Torah.

In Hebrew, these books have very different names, each taken from the first Hebrew word that appears in the book. They are:

  • Genesis - Bereisheet. "Bereisheet" means "in the beginning." This Hebrew word begins the narrative of Creation.
  • Exodus - Shemot. "Shemot" means "names" in Hebrew. Exodus begins by naming the sons of Israel who went to Egypt.
  • Leviticus - Vayikra. "Vayikra" means "And He called" in Hebrew. This book of the bible deals mostly with priestly subjects (how to run the sanctuary, etc) and begins with God calling Moses to speak with him.
  • Numbers - Ba Midbar. "Ba Midbar" means "In the wilderness" in Hebrew. This book chronicles the Israelites' journey through the wilderness.
  • Deuteronomy - D'varim. "D'varim" means "Words" in Hebrew. D'varim chronicles the words of Moses and mostly consists of speeches wherein Moses talks to the Israelites about the journey they have shared. At the end of D'varim, Moses dies and the Israelites enter the Promised Land.

Also Known As: Torah
The Torah is composed of the Five Books of Moses.
  1. About.com
  2. Religion & Spirituality
  3. Judaism
  4. Jewish Dictionary
  5. The Five Books of Moses - Books of the Torah

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.