1. Religion & Spirituality
Ask Rabbi Lerner
Is Corn Syrup Kosher for Passover? 
  Ask the Rabbi Pages
• Ask Rabbi Lerner Home
• 
A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P R S T U V W Y Z

  Related Resources
• Introduction to Judaism
• Jewish Holidays
• Jewish Lifecycle Events
• Jewish How To Pages

Question

I just noticed that the Joyva Sesame Crunch I just purchased for Pesach contains corn syrup as an ingredient. At the same time, the package states that it is "Kosher for Passover". I am confused, because I thought corn was one of the forbidden products on Pesach. I never noticed the ingredients before, because I assumed that when an item was marked Kosher for Pesach, it contained no forbidden ingredients. Please advise.

Answer

Under proper supervision, corn syrup can be kosher for Passover. We can permit some products made from an ingredient that itself would ordinarily be considered "chametz" or not kosher for Passover.

The general rule was to prohibit corn syrup when it was uncertain whether the preparation of the corn syrup was done with the appropriate supervision. Secondly, rabbis could prohibit corn syrup, which is a sweetener, as there are other kosher for Passover sweeteners, including potato syrup and sugar.

However, under the right circumstances, corn syrup can be kosher for Passover.

A good rule of thumb - check out the markings on the product. If it is a major "hechshar" or kosher supervisory company you can almost always rely upon their supervision. If you have any questions about a product, you can call the 1-800 number, which today can be found on virtually all packaging, to get answers to your questions.

Enjoy the holiday. If you would like to enjoy Passover and the Seder even more for FREE, please download my Seder Supplement for new and old song parodies, readings, discussion topics, games and more - absolutely NO charge or strings attached. Feel free to make copies and to tell friends about this Passover resource.

 Best Wishes,

Rabbi Barry Dov Lerner
Foundation for Family Education (FFFE)

More Answers from Rabbi Lerner

 

Subscribe to the Newsletter
Name
Email





You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.